Welcome to Paradise

After leaving Fort Myers, we again had wonderful sailing.  Ten to fifteen knot winds from the East, less than two foot waves on the seas, it was absolutely incredible.  I could spend all year just sailing around the Gulf.
After coming under the high bridge to the Ocean side of the Keys, we turned and had to come under a lift bridge (Boot Key Bridge), and the bridge tender asked where we hailed from, said he would raise the bridge, and bid us a “Welcome to Paradise”.
This harbor used to be a major anchorage for cruisers, then due to pollution issues, scuttled vessels, and issues in general, the city took over the anchorage and provided a mooring field.  The prices are very reasonable, they provide free weekly pump outs, there is a daily cruisers net, and they provide washrooms, showers, meeting rooms, lounge facilities and secure mooring balls.  What more could a cruiser ask for?
There are lots to do here, yoga classes, Bahamas goto meetings, baseball games, flea markets, pot luck dinners and meetings, and the restaurants and small stores are great!
As you can see from the pictures, large, beautiful and tropical homes are the norm, the sand is still very, very white, the sunsets are still amazing, my new fishing rod works great (I can’t wait to try it out on a 15 pound grouper), and the Dolphins are still alongside the boat whenever I move.
I purchased snorkeling equipment, and have been out in the Ocean snorkeling (just in my dingy), and have to find a better way to reenter the dingy than to try and pull myself up into it.  When I did that, my legs scraped the bottom of the craft, and the barnacles were just like little razors, and cut my legs up.  When I realized what happened, I moved very fast to get back in the boat, with all the blood around me.  There be sharks here, matey!
My next purchase will be a spear gun; another cruiser is going to teach me how to use it.  You see, I have always had this dream of tying myself onto a long line, jumping over the boat and being trolled, with spear gun in hand.  Either a large shark, or I am going to be dinner.
MB has arrived, and brought the dark windy weather with her.  It has been high winds, cloudy, and yesterday on a long walk we got caught in a tropical storm and got soaked.  She’s not yet convinced of this paradise thing.  We have been to fishing seminars, Bahamas meetings, and stood in line for showers and laundry.  I love it, she’s not yet convinced.  Hopefully the weather goes back to sunny 80’s and 10 knot winds.
My son called the other day to tell us that he won a PEI Music Award, and that our pipes in the house froze.  We have decided that we don’t miss the snow as much as we thought we did at Christmas.
Have a wonderful January everyone, I know we are.
Joe & Mary Beth
S/V “Pot ‘O’ Gold”  currently in Paradise

2 Responses to “Welcome to Paradise”

  1. Richard & Susan Says:

    Looks great to us! What a trip! How long do plan on staying in the keys?

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Hi Uncle J and Auntie M

    Its Lucas and mom . Glad to here your adventer is turning out as you wanted it to. WE are thinking of you lots and very enveous. Lucas wants to sail the world like you did. No more scuba diving for you Joe if your going to attract sharks !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We need you both home in one piece to come and see you this summer. Not with a peg leg or a CAPTANS hook. When do you plan to be back on the Island?? I know your not in to much of a rush. We’d like to come out in the Monte for a week or so. Maybe do some Deep Sea fishing or go for a nice sail. Love to you both Amy Lucas Adam &Todd P.S. Todd went for his stress today and it gave him a good work over!!!!!!!! I think he’s still in denial about
    how sick he is. But time will tell. MB you know how stuburn men are. Love to you both Keep safe and keep on cruising!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

