White Sand, Aqua Water, and Relaxation

Christmas is over, the visiting is done, and we can now get back to our hard life of sailing, meeting people and cruising whenever and however we feel like it.  It was different having the boat tied up and staying in a house, instead of seeing water, birds and dolphins over the gunwale there were people, houses, cars and buildings.

My friend Kerry showed up from PEI, and he and I are sailing to the Keys, we left MB to keep visiting with her father, and my mother and she will take a bus to Marathon and meet up with me for the middle of January, when Kerry flies home.  MB will be taking a bus from St. Pete to Marathon, and I met up with a longtime cruiser who tells me her bus ride will be an incredible experience.  After she changes buses in Miami, she will be on a bus full of Mexican families and chickens.  As I told her on this trip, life will be full of interesting experiences, I hope she takes pictures.

The story for this leg of the trip is calm turquoise water, white sand, huge homes, dolphins, and Fort Myers.  When reading about the Gulf of Mexico, I always read the prevailing winds were 10 – 15 knots, the temperature was always mid seventies, and the skies were clear.  It is absolutely true!  For the past 6 days, at least, we have had fair winds, two foot seas, and clear skies.  It clouds over a little at night, but clears right back up in the daytime.

Fort Myers is a mini Marathon, I am told.  It has a large Mooring field, and we dingy ashore to do anything on land.  We stopped for the night, and it was so nice, we stayed an extra day.  My British Seagull outboard that has started and run like a champ this trip broke the propeller spring, and no one even knew what it was, let along carried parts.  So with my duct tape and wire (Red Green would be proud), I was able to make it run for a couple days, and ordered a new spring from England, it should meet me in Marathon.  The beaches were full of people, the sand is so very white, and the homes are absolutely huge.  I could have spent at least a week there, but the curse of the sailor, the schedule, demands that I move on.

Dolphins playing beside the boat are now a regular occurrence, and I think they tease me, as I have been unable to get a clear picture, but I will continue to try.  Tonight we are at an anchorage in Gordons Pass, almost to Marco Island, a cold front (its going down to the low 70’s for a day or two) came in, and with it some dark clouds and high winds (over 40 knots) so we pulled in to one of my emergency waypoints.  After we motored in the Canal, we realized we were in an area of absolutely huge homes, and when the weather settled, cruise ships started coming in the canal with tourists, giving tours of the rich homes.  We wave as they go by.

Next entry will be from the Keys, and MB will be back with me (I hope!!)

Love to Everyone,
Joe Amelia
S/V “Pot ‘O’ Gold

Leave a Reply

